Unlawful Possession of a Weapon
If you’ve been charged with Unlawful Possession of a Weapon, that means you had a firearm (excluding antique firearms) in your possession and any of the following applies to you:
- you have been convicted of a felony in Missouri
- you have been convicted of a felony elsewhere in the United States that would also be considered a felony in Missouri
- you are a fugitive from the law
- you are habitually under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- you have been deemed mentally incompetent, or have been committed to a mental institution
- you are in the United States illegally
- you were dishonorably discharged from the US Armed Forces
- there is a restraining order against you from either a spouse, partner or child of that spouse or partner
- have ever been convicted of a domestic violence misdemeanor charge
The charges apply to firearms, as well as explosives with any bullet or projectile that detonates on impact. In addition, if you are caught with unlawful possession of a machine gun, short-barreled rifle, sawed-off shotgun or silencer, you face a federal offense, and an even greater punishment.
Simply put, an Unlawful Possession of a Weapon charge is a serious one, and is a Class C Felony. That means if convicted, you could face up to 7 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Not to mention a felony charge on your permanent record, which could lead to financial and employment-related consequences.
If you’ve been charged with Unlawful Possession of a Weapon, it’s important to speak with an attorney who has experience and extensive knowledge of Missouri gun laws. Taylor Defense Law will speak with you and determine your best defense, and take you through the court process.
Let us represent you. Call Taylor Defense Law today.
Contact Us Now